Saturday Stories – 3/8

Leave a comment

We went to a neighborhood Walmart the other day and as I was standing in the bread aisle trying to decide on the endless limit of styles of bread, I noticed a couple a little ways down. I was shocked as I watched, I couldn’t stop staring, I didn’t care if they saw me because it was one of the most refreshing moments of my life. It was as if their words and interactions were pouring water into my dry mouth. They stood gazing at the cookies, playfully joking, lovingly talking and joyfully being present.

I was sitting on a tarp at a kids Bible club in the project with a little boy probably around 7 sitting next to me. He had been drawn to me the moment we started and as I tried to control him and his distractions, he looked up and asked “What is that ring for?” Not knowing what he was talking about I asked back, “What ring?” “This one”pointing to my finger, I said “that’s my wedding ring, I am married.” The next statement is a common one after indicating I am married, “What is your girlfriends name?” I smiled back, “My wife’s name?” He asked again correcting himself, “What is your wife’s name?” “Allison” I answered.

One of the best ways we can connect with people is through stories. We’re going to try to post a few stories every week from our life. We aren’t anything special, the foolishness of the cross is why we do this (1 Corinthians 1:18). These are just little pictures to point you to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

